Marco Rubio Illustration

Marco Rubio Illustration

Marco Rubio Illustration
Pen and Ink with Watercolor
Part of my 2016 U.S. Presidential Candidate series. There are still so many to complete. These are all drawn with a black PITT artist pen with a light watercolor wash added.

About Gregory T Nelson

I have loved to draw for as long as I can remember. When I was younger, I would look forward to Saturday mornings when I would draw the characters from the cartoons I watched. My passion is and has always been drawing and painting so it only seemed natural to make this my life-long pursuit. My current illustration work consists of pen and ink and watercolor with an expressive line quality that is alive with variety and texture. My drawings have been described as “consistent, with great energy and very upbeat and fun” which fits right in with how they are made. My process starts with a great deal of research followed with rough pencil drawings. I work over the pencil drawings with pen and ink and complete them with varying levels of watercolor and washes. This process seems to make sense to me and I see a direct connection to some of the earlier work that I did while I was and undergrad student at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design and the work I was doing when I entered the ISDP Master’s Program at Syracuse University. I also love to explore and to learn so teaching became a natural fit. I have been teaching college students since 1995 and have been fortunate to work at some impressive places and to work with even more impressive people. Currently, I teach Graphic Design at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville with a team of exciting faculty. The eclectic mix of friends that I have made along the way has enriched my life and every experience in a unique way. My editorial and greeting card illustrations have been created for clients including Charlotte Wedding Magazine, ABA Journal, P.S. Greetings, Orange Coast Magazine, K.L. Publications, and Midwest Home Magazine. I am also currently working on a self-initiated children’s book project as the writer and designer of a series of stories based on my own children. I am fortunate to have been featured in many group and solo exhibitions, to receive ADDY awards for my graphic design work, and to have my illustrations as a spotlight on the AltPick web site. My series of portrait drawings of 2016 U.S. Presidential candidates has been featured on AltPick.com and in various off-line media outlets. I’m always looking for the next project so feel free to check out my work or get in touch. View all posts by Gregory T Nelson

Leave a comment